I Have the Pow-ah

I have spent a great deal of time playing today and yesterday. I went from level 13 to level 20 across the board (Jon actually reached level 21) before I went to fight the fire fiend. It did make the dungeon a little easier to take on but definitely still not easy.

In Mt Gulg I ran into some Piscodemons and their grey cousins, Mindflayers. I died a few times to be honest. So even at level 20 this dungeon was no piece of cake. But I made it through and I restored another crystal! Yay!

During my leveling up quest I did take that time to fill in some more of my spells as I was getting Gil left and right. I think the greatest difficulty with the magic is deciding which three spells to take with you. It was easy in some cases because Sansa and Petyr weren’t necessarily able to use certain spells as a white and black mage. But regardless I got every slot filled generally opting for attack spells over impairment spells. I rarely use things to paralyze or blind my enemies. The one spell I was surprised by was Poison.

The surprising thing about this was I kept seeing the name and thinking in terms of modern installments. I didn’t give it much mind. I figure “oh it will poison my enemy… maybe but I wanna get another spell first then I’ll get it.”

Well that was dumb. Turns out in Final Fantasy poison acts as an insta-death attack. Its not 100% guaranteed and if it does hit it doesn’t always hit every enemy if you’re fighting more than one. Needless to say though, this is awesome. Its not like poison now where your enemy will be hit every turn with X hp coming off and it may or may not kill them.

Petyr just became way more useful. And… well way more Littlefinger. He’s no good in a physical fight but you wanna get crafty his intelligence is through the roof and he will outmaneuver you if not eliminated quickly.

I made sure to get him Quake as well which works in the same way as Poison does. Insta-death, not guaranteed, and may hit some but not ALL enemies. Between the two Petyr can kick some serious butt.

I did also set him up with Reaper, which is Death. So yea, also insta-death but from the times I’ve used it the success rate is not very good and it targets only one enemy at a time while Poison and Quake target many.

I also tried out Muddle.

I feel like the results are like a spot the difference picture. Clearly if you’re confused you face the other way. This does kind of correspond to at least FFXV because those cactuars for the first timed quest kept confusing me, before I remembered I had an accessory for that, I would have to move the L stick the opposite direction to get Noct to go the way I wanted him to.

I also set up Sansa with some spells I generally focus on healing and dispelling ailments with her. I believe I got NulFrost because I had no other spell to buy for her, the other option had been something she couldn’t use.

In my great leveling excursion I also started to have enemies flee. To this point in this game I’d never had any enemy run away from me. I’d run from some but never the other way around. It felt nice. I felt powerful.

Six anacondas and three scorpions showed up to a fight. One fled shouting “Damnit what did you guys get me into?! You said we were going for ice cream!”

Then two more realized it was a sword fight and followed the first cursing the ones who stayed. And I killed the remaining. Yes… powerful.

So I was on a roll after Mt Gulg decided to try and keep going. I thought I was going to get another crystal but in the Ice Cavern but I was mistaken. I fought through hell to fight a giant eye. But it was totally worth it because I got a Levistone. Yes, that’s right. We all know where this is going… AIRSHIP time!

… Almost…

First I had to make my way to a desert to summon the beast up from the sands… why was it in the sand? I have no idea. But I’m not questioning it. I got an airship its cool.

Oh and I found out how to bring up the map finally. I don’t know if it was possible before the airship and I just didn’t think to try random combinations but apparently if you press Start and circle you can get the map to pop up. My controller isn’t very good and it had freaked out and somehow got it to pop up. So I started trying everything I could once it got it under control and well there was a map. I feel kind of dumb if this has been available this whole time cause all I’ve wanted was for a map. Now I have one. Maybe I had one… Dunno… got it now. That’s what matters. Yea. Made it bearable for myself.

So we took flight! Went and did some exploring of the world. Did this citadel of trials. It was a lot of running floor to floor the prize at the end? Rat’s Tail.

Got back to my nifty airship and floated off for more adventures… Well that rat’s tail apparently is the secret to getting an upgrade.

So Bahamut is a common summon in Final Fantasy. Well in the first game he’s hiding out and he takes your rat tail as a sign of your worthiness and gives the Light Warriors class promotions!

YAY! Now I actually can use some of the spells I haven’t been able to at other spots because they were for a white or black WIZARD. Yea… Sansa and Petyr, they wizards now. 

And let me just say… damn.

The difference in fighting with these new classes is extremely noticeable. Attacks that would have previously risked the lives of Sam, Sansa and Petyr are now doing only 15-30 damage instead of 30-110. Jon was always strong. I think he’s only ever died once on me. He may know nothing, sporting the lowest intelligence of the bunch, but dude can take a hit.

I thanked the Dragon King and went on my way. And now I have chosen to rest for the time being in the town of Onlak. I found a couple more seemingly unimportant wells. But I’m keeping an eye on them regardless.

Leave a Reply

