Where it Began

I’ve put in about 6 hours to Final Fantasy. It’s not much, though I keep feeling as though I’ve played more than the clock is reflecting.

I’m currently feeling a bit conflicted about the game. In some ways I really enjoy it. It’s very nostalgic of NES days. But at the same time I’m really missing modern features. The lack of some of the features offers a challenge which is an interesting experience. I personally have taken such luxuries for granted and honestly hadn’t considered how much more challenging a game might be without something like a map easily pulled up.

One interesting thing about the game is that in the start the White Mage, Sansa in my game, isn’t totally useless as a fighter. I expected her to not be much help but she’s actually been a surprise hard hitter. As the levels have gone up her usefulness has decreased but it’s not like Yuna whacking someone with her staff for a measly 10 HP off of their like hundreds of HP. Instead Sansa does get 10-15 HP knocked off of a total HP of somewhere between 20-80 so its significant.

The Black Mage, Petyr, however is as useless a fighter without magic as I anticipated. His HP is also the lowest. Petyr does have some great spells he can use which I was surprised to see for as black magic and not marked as white. Specially the buffer “Steel” which I do use on my Warrior, Jon.

So far I have saved a princess, gotten a ship, and I’m currently working on waking a sleeping elf prince.

Oh and I came across a suspicious looking well that the game is assuring me is not important. Not sure if I believe it though…


The game is very similar to Legend of Zelda in the sense that you need to speak to the NPCs and get the clues for where to go and what to do. This is what makes me wish for a map because it would just be nice to take a peak at a layout of the area just to get my barrings with the information provided.


The spells are also a bit different than what I’m used to. Esuna is only set to cure poison. At least as a level 4 spell it only cures poison. This may change perhaps if there is an Esuna 2 like there is a Cure 2 which restores more HP then Cure 1.

There is also no phoenix down as of yet and I currently do not have a Life spell to revive fallen characters.

These small changes have really required that I play with a little more strategy. If someone falls, they’re down until I make it to a village and pay to have them revived. If someone is poisoned every step I take an annoying green light flashes and my character is hurting every time so they an antidote is really necessary.

Leveling up however seems a bit simpler. I am currently level 8 and while by today’s standards that may seem a bit low I do not seem to be having difficulty with playing. Inflation doesn’t just effect the economy I guess. Perhaps its our perception that larger numbers equal strength. Because my strongest, Jon, his HP is only just now over 200.

I’d say the prices of things was high but its fairly easy to acquire gil so with some basic grinding you can really get the goods easy enough.

I’m gonna get back to it. I’ll provide another update after I’ve clocked some more time.

Leave a Reply

